Guest viewing is limited

New Child - reduced payment?

bigjimbob

Hi, I’ve been paying CM for approximately 10 years to my ex, straight into her account. When I told her the payments would decrease as I was expecting a child with my current wife, she went to the CMS for them to calculate what I should pay.

My new child is now here and 9 weeks after her birth, I’ve finally had a child benefit letter through the post so I can prove that she actually exists (CMS won’t accept a birth certificate), so I’ve been paying approximately £50 more that I needed to be p/m during this time.

Upon providing the evidence yesterday, the CMS have said that they have a number of weeks to consider the request. This ultimately means that this will be yet another month that I’ll be out of pocket due to their slow decision making.

I’m considering just lowering the payment anyway and sending my ex partner a reduced amount (calculated with the CMS figures) based on having a new child. Will this cause WW3 with the CMS?

What annoys me is that the CMS won’t allow me to recoup any of the extra money that I’ve been paying, are so slow in making decisions and haven’t changed with the times, as it takes so long in the post-Covid world to register a child.

My wife and I are so short of cash at the minute, so this is causing a lot of stress!

I wouldn't do this mate as you risk that move from direct pay to the one where they whack you with a charge. Something like 20%?

Once it's gone through I think CMS should adjust for the current year to reflect the birth date retrospectively, although I can't swear to that

Keep on paying the specified amount until they get back to you, as frustrating as it is.