Guest viewing is limited

Mesher Orders

Goodegg999

Hello All,
We've just done our first mediation session. My wife is looking for 200K out of a 250K assets pot. The area she has chosen to live in 3 bed properties start at 380K. She can raise a mortgage for 180K, so needs a deposit of 200K. Her argument is strong for staying in the area. Support network available, kids friends nearby etc etc. (However, 3 miles down the road property is much cheaper but she dosnt want to live there) I have offered her a 60/40 split in her favour. 150/100K. She has said she will go to court if she doesnt get the 200K. I'm wondering if a Mesher Order could work. Say we split 60/40 I loan her 50K out of my 100K to be paid on sale of her house when the kids are 18. Is this how it works? I appreciate it ties up my money for a few years but she gets her house and we dont go to court. Does this sound reasonable?

I'm no expert on divorce but I believe 70/30 is often ordered when there's no agreement. With a mesher order, the capital would be tied up until the last child reaches 18 (I think but am happy to be corrected as others know more about this). Would you be able to afford to rent? There are good arguments for a clean break/split as well and selling up. Would you be keeping the house and just buying her out?

A mesher order isn't just restricted to when child turns 18, it can be a life trigger, like if stbx gets remarried is another popular one.

I would push for a clean break, however be mindful stbx does not have to sign it, which, I could be wrong, she could lay claim to a portion of any new property ypu may purchase,pension,lottery win, bonuses absolutely anything

Yes agreed, but, thays if she signs it, she can't be made to and a judge can't force her to either

I'm not aware of that situation - maybe others know. A clean break order is usually pretty final as far as I'm aware.