Guest viewing is limited

Am I sleepwalking into every other weekend with children?

DanielS

Newbie here and long story short folks: going through a difficult divorce, mediation on children failed with no outcome, wealthy ex wants her solicitor and courts to sort everything from here, we're still all living together and house is not yet on market, our first finances FDA hearing is later in September, and no court filing yet regarding children. Do majority childcare while ex works, clubs after school and the rest of it.

In mediation she bizarrely only offered me every other weekend because they should be with mum. Ex's family are pressuring me to accept her demands as "best" for the children.

I am concerned she and her solicitor have a plan to achieve every other weekend for me.

Given above, am I sleepwalking into a trap? I'm mentally unwell and stress of above is all I can handle, but I don't want to be a naïve fool either.

Should I be filing for children now? Before the finances FDA? Or no issues with waiting?

This group is fab and been so useful so far on this journey.

Hi

Leaving the house would be a mistake. As there's then a precedent for a primary carer etc. A mistake a few of us on here have made.

Ideally you what to try and get children matters sorted first and she will probably want finances sorted first.

Just ignore the offer of every other weekend.

What would you like 50 / 50 on the kids?

I agree, get the child arrangement proceedings going ASAP. Arrangements for the children take precedence over financials.

Before the acrimony and allegations get going. I suggest you do Subject Access Requests to all of the agencies involved with the kid(s): gp, nursery, school, health visitor, maternity ward... Anyone you can think of. These can be much more difficult to get after battles commence.